Garden of Shadows (Dollanganger Series #5) share button
V. C. Andrews
Format Mass Market Paperback
Dimensions 4.19 (w) x 6.75 (h) x 0.75 (d)
Pages 384
Publisher Simon & Schuster Adult Publishing Group
Publication Date November 1990
ISBN 9780671729424
Book ISBN 10 067172942X
About Book

Garden of Shadows is the "prequel" to the phenomenally popular series that began with Flowers in the Attic and continued with Petals on the Wind, If There Be Thorns, and Seeds of Yesterday.

Here we meet the young, dashing Malcolm Foxworth-the man who started it all-and his new wife, Olivia. Tall, stern, bookish, and longing for love. Olivia thinks that her marriage to Malcolm will be all sunshine and roses. But soon enough the shadows begin to gather around Foxworth Hall, and Malcolm's dark side emerges. Malcolm's father returns, accompanied by a child bride, and Malcolm becomes obsessed with the pretty, vibrant young woman. Children are born; three boys and one special, beautiful girl. One of these children will hold the key to the shocking secret that will taint the Foxworths forever-a secret known only to the older generation, a secret that will reveal, at last, why Malcolm Foxworth and his wife Olivia became evil.

Once again. V.C. Andrews spins an enthralling tale of the tangled web of family emotions.


Children's Literature - Kristi Bernard

The beginnings of another tale of woe are spun with the same style and characteristic as previews books by Andrews. Whether it is the beginning or the end of her series it is all the same. The reader is taken back in time where it is discovered why the Olivia character, the grandmother from the sequel Flowers in the Attic, is so mean and hateful. Learning about her past will allow readers the opportunity to either be sympathetic or loath Olivia just as we all did in the sequel. Andrew weaves a web of dreams, betrayal, loneliness, longing, rape, and incest. Lies are woven throughout this tale, so much so it is difficult to keep up. The story tells how Olivia marries Malcolm Foxworth, who is secretly obsessed in regards to his mother and her death. Olivia gives Malcolm two sons, Malcolm Jr. and Joel. Malcolm's father Garland brings home a new very young bride Alicia, whom becomes pregnant by Malcolm Jr. who consistently rapes her. Olivia covers this secret by stating that Alicia is leaving, but actually she is being kept in the attic. As a result the mysteries of the attic begin. Olivia pretends to be pregnant and once the baby arrives takes it as her own, thus giving Malcolm the daughter he always wanted. This is not a story for young readers. The rape and incest that are implied are offensive. For adult readers there has to be a certain level of comfort before reading. Andrews does stick to the same flow as her other books. This story really does not add much to enhance learning or shedding light on any of the other books in the series. Unless you are a big fan of Andrews' series I would not recommend this book for any light reading. Reviewer: Kristi Bernard