Jambula Tree and other stories: The Caine Prize for African Writing 8th Annual Collection share button
Monica Arac de Nyeko
Format Paperback
Dimensions 5.80 (w) x 8.10 (h) x 0.70 (d)
Pages 214
Publisher New Internationalist
Publication Date July 2008
ISBN 9781904456735
Book ISBN 10 1904456731
About Book

The Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. Each year, the full shortlist and twelve other stories are collected and published in one volume.

This year’s winner is Monica Arac de Nyeko for Jambula Tree, described as “a witty and touching portrait of a community which is affected forever by a love which blossoms between two adolescents.”

Previous winners and entrants include Segun Afolabi, Leila Aboulela, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Brian Chikwava, Mary Watson, and Binyavanga Wainaina.