The Caine Prize 2009: The Caine Prize for African Writing 10th Annual Collection share button
New Internationalist
Format Paperback
Dimensions 5.80 (w) x 8.20 (h) x 0.60 (d)
Pages 214
Publisher New Internationalist
Publication Date July 2009
ISBN 9781906523145
Book ISBN 10 1906523142
About Book

The Caine Prize for African Writing is Africa’s leading literary prize and is awarded to a short story by an African writer published in English, whether in Africa or elsewhere. This edition collects the five 2009 shortlisted stories, along with twelve stories written at the Caine Prize Writers’ Workshop, taking place in spring 2009.

Previous winners and entrants include Segun Afolabi, Leila Aboulela, Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie, Brian Chikwava, Henrietta Rose-Innes, Mary Watson, and Binyavanga Wainaina.

The collection will be released in time for the announcement of the award in July 2009.

This year's shortlist:

Mamle Kabu (Ghana), 'The End of Skill from Dreams,' from Miracles and Jazz, published by Picador Africa, Johannesburg 2008

* Parselelo Kantai (Kenya), 'You Wreck Her,' from the St Petersburg Review, NY 2008

* Alistair Morgan (South Africa), 'Icebergs,' from The Paris Review no.
183, NY 2008

* EC Osondu (Nigeria), 'Waiting,' from Guernicamag.com, October 2008

* Mukoma wa Ngugi (Kenya), 'How Kamau wa Mwangi Escaped into Exile,' from Wasafiri No54, Summer 2008, London